New
Find
Notify
Tools

Recipe for 300 wsm
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I have been reloading for my 300 wsm for two years, worked up the perfect load, and did not look to the future when powder was going to be hard to find...so now here I sit down to the last couple of pounds of R19 and it is no longer to be found. I have done the research and found the IMR 4831 is next to R19 in the burn rate. I'm starting on working up a new recipe and was wondering if someone might be willing to share the magic numbers. I'm loading Barnes Triple Shock 180g. Any help is appreciated...thanks in advance. I'm also interested in hearing any other powders being used in the 300 wsm pushing 180g bullets. I've already weeded out IMR4350 and R17.

Posts: 35 | Location: Montana | Registered: 09 January 2012Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of 700xcr
posted Hide Post
My hunting partner uses Magpro with a Nosler 180gr. Accubond. I have used IMR 7828ssc with a 200gr, Nosler Accubond.

Posts: 191 | Location: Kennewick,Wa. | Registered: 20 November 2010Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
I'm using H4350 for 165s and 180s. Holds sub MOA out to 500 yards with either.

One thing I've noticed is my rifle stubborningly wont take charges higher than starting loads in most manuals, but the speed is there.

Posts: 1928 | Location: Saskatchewan, Canada | Registered: 30 November 2006Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
I've found that the imr 4350 creates too much pressure in the chamber. Even starting at the minimum load its showing pressure signs around the primer and case itself. Is there a big difference between H and IMR 4350...I haven't used H4350 in any loads. Has anyone tried Hunter, I'd read that it is a good choice for the 300wsm as well.

One of Us
posted Hide Post