New
Find
Notify
Tools

EAA Brno 98
 Login/Join

<Paleohunter>
posted
If Brno does not have a importer to the U.S. then where is EAA getting there Black Syn Stock rifles that they are calling Brno 98s? Has anyone seen one of these in real life? If so hat is your impression of them??

one of us
posted Hide Post
EAA IS Brno's importer.

Posts: 2206 | Location: USA | Registered: 31 August 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Gator gun shop here in town has one in 30-06. I think he is asking $280.00 for it. As for the action it looks like a98 action. he even took it apart for me to see the box magazine. I am no expert but it looks and feels like the real thing. The only problems that I have with it is the stock( it has a cheap feel to it) and the bolt handle is just bent down in a not so neat manner. Looks like some one took a torch to it and bent it. Other than that it is drilled and tapped for scope mounts. I can't recall how the safety is set-up. He claims to have sold a few and says that everyone has been pleased so far. I haven't caught him in a lie yet and I have given him plenty of opportunity to do so.

Posts: 92 | Location: Sulphur, La. | Registered: 26 September 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
I have one in .270. BRNO is definitely recycling parts as the bolt face shows gas cutting from use. The stock is an off the shelf Butler Creek. The charger hump is removed and the action will accomodate two piece bases. The bolt handle is nasty, simply bent straight over with a dish ground out that may clear a high mounted scope. The safety is the traditional Mauser 3 position, no provision for scope clearance.

I can't tell you how it shoots as I haven't shot it. I bought this one out of simple curiousity. As shown in the pic below, I have replaced the bolt and installed a low safety. It would still be a decent low-cost hunter.

-

Sam B.
http://www.fireflyarms.com

[ 10-01-2002, 07:15: Message edited by: SamB ]