Find
Notify
Tools

7x64 Brenneke
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
Good day Gentleman,

I have recently inhereted my grandfathers 7x64 brenneke Sako and am eager to work with it a bit. I also received 180 rounds of RWS ammo but it must be roughly 15 years old! Packaging is still sealed though.

I'm starting to look at my reloading options and would like to see what your recommendations are from personal/educated experience.

I am new to reloading so please excuse my ignorant questions.

What I have more or less looked at is.

RWS brass
Somchem S365 gr - not sure where to start off
CCI primers
Swift A frames 150gr

Any tips you might have for me or any other reccommendations? I might also be getting some 150gr swift sciroccos to try out.

Thanks,

I love animals, they are delicious!

Posts: 26 | Location: Jhb, South Africa | Registered: 18 January 2011Reply With Quote
Picture of jeffeosso
posted Hide Post
Simon, this is my favorite 7mm .
good luck on your quest to find the perfect load with it.. stick with heavy bullets, and moderate vels . it is a lightening bolt

#dumptrump

opinions vary band of bubbas and STC hunting Club

Information on Ammoguide about
the416AR, 458AR, 470AR, 500AR
What is an AR round? Case Drawings 416-458-470AR and 500AR.
476AR,
http://www.weaponsmith.com

Posts: 38517 | Location: Conroe, TX | Registered: 01 June 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Ditto. Most 7x64 rifles have long throats, for heavy bullets (160-175 grs). IMR 4350 is always a good choice for standard length barrels.

Posts: 2034 | Location: Roebling, NJ 08554 | Registered: 20 January 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Simon I am not familiar with Somchem 365 powder but my Mauser 7x64 really likes 160 gr bullets and IMR 4831.I would suggest starting with 50 grs of IMR 4831 and working up to a max of about 54 or 55 grs ,watching for signs of excessive pressure. Hope that helps.