New
Find
Notify
Tools

cast bullets in hand guns
 Login/Join

<brrrnt>
posted
well I'm new to the game of casting bullets for handguns. I'm casting for a .454 casull SRH 9.5" barrel. I managed to get a meat test this deer season and was not vey impressed at all. The exit wound looks as if the bullet simply passed through and did not expand. i'm mixing about 9% tin to lead in my bullets w/o gas checks and lee liquid alox for lube. come christmas time i'll be getting a sizer and gas checks for a present. now here comes the question. my pistol shoots fine with a minimum load with soft lead, and no leading of the barrel, and when shot into sand they expand great. when the load is increased the barrel leads pretty heavily. but who ever wants to shoot the minimum out of any gun, i don't. I am wondering if i can cast a bullet that I can shoot at the max load, and have no or mild leading of the barrel, and I want it to expand somewhat on game. how much do gas checks help with leading? This seems to be about as long as a 10 year olds wish list to santa clause but I want to be satisfied with my own bullets.

one of us
posted Hide Post
Most of the time cast bullets well act as solids when shot into game. If you want expansion go to a good JHP.

Posts: 19377 | Location: wis | Registered: 21 April 2001Reply With Quote
Picture of Paul H
posted Hide Post
When shooting cast bullets in pistols, aim to take out both shoulders. Don't expect to get great performance on lung shots with cast bullets, there forte is deep penetration.

My preferred meathod of making pistol bullets is to use straight wheelweights, cast hot, and dropped into a 5 gallon bucket of water. They should come out of the mold frosted, and sizzle when they hit the water. With a gas check bullet, you should be fine up to 1700 fps. With a plainbase, I find 1400 seems to be about the limit. Even with the quench hardening, the wheelweight bullets will expand somewhat, and not shatter.