New
Find
Notify
Tools

A ? that I was asked today
 Login/Join

<EricH>
posted
Being the resident "expert"(and I am using that term very losely) hunter in my office I was asked today, "what is the best handgun to buy for whitetail deer?" Some things to keep in mind;
The buyer has only shot a handgun a few times.
And he wants to keep the price under a grand.

I told him I would do some digging and get back to him. Being that I only bowhunt and rifle hunt I was at loss to give him any advice. My guess would be something in the .357 range with a longer bore, for the accuracy, but that is just a guess. What do you guys think?

<Dodgy Doug>
posted
Erich,
I've been hunting exclusively with a handgun for 15 years now,and although the're are some people who have good success with a .357 at ranges 50 yards and less, I would not recommend that caliber to your friend. If you are looking for a revolver I would advise scoping it ( iron sights require more practice). Even the fastest handgun calibers pale when compared to a rifle in velocity, so I believe in punching a big hole. That said I would opt for a a minimum of .41 mag (may be best to start with recoil moderate), or a .44 mag (due to availability of over the counter loads), but if your friend reloads then I would definetly pick the .45 Long Colt. A 250 grain hollow point at 1200 -1500 fps is adequate for whitetail at handgun ranges (usually 70 yards or less) A revolver offers the flexibility to be carried with the iron sights, and used as a back up for close shots which is something many rifle hunters do. If you want to get specialized than a contender with a 10 inch barrel in 7x30 Waters would be a good choice. This will give your friend rifle accuracy, and a range of 150-200 yards. The 7x30 has quite a following. Recoil is mild, and a 10 inch barrel has good balance in the hand. A good 4x scope would round things out nicely or your could opt for a 1.5-4 variable. Hope this helps.