New
Find
Notify
Tools

.41 vs .44 vs .45
 Login/Join

<cyberhick>
posted
I'm saving for a new Ruger Bisley or Blackhawk. I believe that i want it in .45 Colt. I handload, plus i like the bigger hole that it punches. But, i'm still not 100% sure. I like the less drop that the .41mag and .44mag offer, plus i like that .44mag ammo can be found anywhere loaded to nearly its full potential (and i love the Garret .44 mag loads, amazing). So, i'd like to hear it. I'm looking for suggestions on which i should go to. Favorite loads would help too. Maybe one day, i'll have one of each, but i'm only a poor college student. Thanks alot.
cyberhick

Picture of Paul H
posted Hide Post
Pick whatever floats your boat. The trajectory issue is minor, assuming you are using this as an iron sighted sixgun, they all start dropping like a rock after 100 yds, and you'll have to compensate. I load 390's at 1150 in my 480, and have no problem hitting the 200 yd ram once I figure out where to hold.

I know there are some die hard 41 fans, but I don't see any loads pushing 300+ gr bullets 1200+ fps, something both the 44 and 45 will do. As far as the hot garret loads, I believe they will only chamber in redhawk and super redhawks, as they have longer cylinders then the blackhawk/superblackhawk.

Until recently, I had a 4 5/8" super blackhawk, and there was no problem pushing 300-320 gr bullets 1200 fps, I actually clocked a few 320's at 1300, but wouldn't recomend loading to that level. A 45 colt will do the same darn thing, and make slightly larger holes.

You can't go wrong with either round, the 44 has the factory ammo issue, but you need to figure if that really is an issue for you or not.

My buddy just got a one of a kind custom alloy framded 4" bisley with both 45 colt and 45acp cylinders. It makes me think a 45 colt/acp blackhawk might be just the ticket.