New
Find
Notify
Tools

S&W 657 and 629
 Login/Join

<9.3x62>
posted
Just how durable are the S&W 657s and 629s, assuming a steady diet of near max and max loads? Thanks.

one of us
posted Hide Post
I have been using S&W 44 mags since about 1971 or 1972. The two I have owned the longest have had to be tuned up and had some parts replaced, like the locking bolts and the hand. The S&W will shoot loose quicker than a Ruger. The Freedom Arms is the best revolver made.
You will probably not wear a S&W out with normal sporting use, however using one for competition with full loads is not a good idea.
I have heard it many times that the stainless steel S&W,s are not as rugged as the blued ones, but I have shot my stainless guns a fair amount without any problems.

Posts: 16134 | Location: Texas | Registered: 06 April 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
The new 629's are supposed to have an endurance package.
I think that started at model 29-5, maybe late 80's.
So, you may need to consider the age of the guns that others comment on.

Anyway, I have not shot my 629 enough to comment on its endurance.

I can say this though, I will not spend the $ on another one. I love my S&W but my ruger 44's are just as accurate, I am more familiar with the rugers insides, and more confident with the Rugers abillity to push the limit with hot 44 loads.

I can fix just about anything that goes wrong with my Rugers and put a better trigger on them than the factory S&W trigger, myself. Also I can get 2 rugers for the price of a S&W.

I do love my 629 and think it will make a great hog gun. I just hope it holds up.

David

Posts: 355 | Location: Baton Rouge, LA | Registered: 07 August 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post

Posts: 158 | Registered: 21 September 2002Reply With Quote
posted Hide Post