Find
Notify
Tools

MAndatory crimp on 375??
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of BaxterB
posted
I have talked my brother into loading my 375's. Is crimping mandatory/suggested?? I'll (he'll) be loading swifts/TSX's/BAnded Solids all 300 gr.

Tips appreciated.

_Baxter

Picture of jeffeosso
posted Hide Post
Crimp suggested. Due to recoil moving bullets into the case k

#dumptrump

opinions vary band of bubbas and STC hunting Club

Information on Ammoguide about
the416AR, 458AR, 470AR, 500AR
What is an AR round? Case Drawings 416-458-470AR and 500AR.
476AR,
http://www.weaponsmith.com

Posts: 38612 | Location: Conroe, TX | Registered: 01 June 2002Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of BaxterB
posted Hide Post
Thanks jeffeesso. Are there varying levels of crimp or is a crimp a crimp? Which die?

One of Us
posted Hide Post
I've been loading for my 375 h&h for almost 20 yrs and I have never crimped my cases. I have a factory crimp die but never used it yet, I haven't had any problem's yet, maybe I'm just lucky. Measure the lenght on 4 rounds,number them with their lenghts, load them, shoot 3 and remeasure the last round to see if the lenght changed much, that should give you an idea to crimp or not. I use mainly hornady roundnose 270 and 300 grs with IMR 4350. Some Pistol, 45/70 and 458 lott are the only rounds I need to crimp. I have 4 other magnums that I don't crimp and they shoot great. You'll just have to try and see if you can get by with it. I also use rcbs dies???? might be part of it,don't know. You can adjust your die down to add the level of crimp you want or need or you could get a factory crimp die. good luck

One of Us
posted Hide Post
quote:
I've been loading for my 375 h&h for almost 20 yrs and I have never crimped my cases

me2

Posts: 13446 | Location: faribault mn | Registered: 16 November 2004Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of Labman
posted Hide Post