THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM FORUMS

Moderators: Mark
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

How many times can you reload a 308 case?
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I'm very new to reloading and under supervision have just started into reloading for the 308. I got myself 100 Lapua cases and am wondering how many times it will be possible to reload them before they need replaced? It is my intention to load them with fairly light "plinking" loads, at least to start with, so I shouldn't be pushing them too hard.

As you might imagine part of my reasoning is to save a little money and while I am currently using mostly "borrowed" gear I have no capital investment so most of my expenditure is in brass, power, heads etc. Once I get up to speed then I will hopefully advance to buying my own press and starting to load for accuracy and hunting but the plinking load seems a good place to start.

One of Us
posted Hide Post
Barring a mistake on your part, they could last up to 25 reloads. Learn how to anneal a case properly and they have the potential to last indefinitely with the loads you're planning on using. What will happen if you don't anneal the case neck? They work harden (contraction/expansion) during the resizing cycle, and eventually the neck will become overworked and split.
FWIW, I've cases that have been fired and reloaded so many times the case head can no longer be read.

One of Us
posted Hide Post
That's one of those "how long is a piece of string" questions. Smiler If you are not motoring your cartridge too hard and you are not full length resizing your brass to go back into a factory chamber, they will probably last until you are sick of reloading them. I can't give your a number of times you may reload the cases. I don't keep that sort of records.