New
Find
Notify
Tools

Question on O.A.L. and Sizing
 Login/Join

Picture of Jager100
posted
I am new at reloading. Just set up my reloading bench and worked up my first load in 300 WinMag. I loaded 5 round lots. Each increasing by .5g from start to max with R22 and 180g Accubonds. Headed to the range with my new chronograph. I have 2 questions for the experts.
I read about 10 books and watched 5 videos before I started. None seam to cover these.
1) I have read that you want to seat the bullet just off the lands. I did not do this as I would have been way over the O.A.L. listed in the Nosler book. Is there a danger in exceeding the OAL or is it just to make sure the round functions in all rifles? Better safe than sorry when climbing the learning curve.
2)I fully sized all my cases. If I am going to shoot the ammo out of the same rifle, should I buy a neck sizing die? It would seem that this would make a more acuurate round and make the cases last longer.
Thanks
David

One of Us
posted Hide Post
Hi Jager,

If you use the "Find" button at the top of the post, you can ask about and get lots of information in previous threads that will answer your questions.

This is a common question for starters and I think that is the reason you've had no replies.

One of Us
Picture of woods
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by Jager100:
I1) I have read that you want to seat the bullet just off the lands. I did not do this as I would have been way over the O.A.L. listed in the Nosler book. Is there a danger in exceeding the OAL or is it just to make sure the round functions in all rifles? Better safe than sorry when climbing the learning curve.