Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

.45 Colt load for short barrels...?
 Login/Join

posted
The .45 colt is one of my favorite calibers, and I've been loading for it for several years now.

I recently bought a Taurus 450SS, a snub-nose revolver in .45 Colt with a short (and ported) barrel. My normal loads (225's with titegroup) run very slow from the gun due to the short barrel and porting, and am looking for tips or recipes on lighter-bullet loads, with powder charges tailored to give decent results from this unusual combination.

I've just started experimenting with it using 160-grain lead RNFP bullets, with titegroup and bullseye charges. Ran five rounds each of 6.5, 7.0, and 7.5 grains of each powder, and the higher-end ones are close (running mid 800's), but am just curious if anyone has any experience with short-barrel, large-caliber loading before I get too deep in any one direction.

I'm considering a faster powder; probably red dot since I already use it for some other things, but really am looking for ideas from others as well.

{edited to add - the gun is out of production now, but was rated for +P loads. They actually still make the same gun in .41 magnum (the taurus 415), so it's fairly stout for its size.}

Thanks

One of Us
posted Hide Post
I have done a lot of shooting with a 3" bbl S&W 625 in .45 Colt but all have been with cast bullets 240-300 gr. I have used about all of the common powders. Most of my loads are in the 700-900 fps range but I can get 1000 fps with 300 gr cast bullet and WC820 (H110/W296) without any problems. You might try some of the heavier cast bullets, in my experience they do well in short barreled revolvers.
C.G.B.

Picture of jeffeosso
posted Hide Post
Sounds like a GREAT gun.. i hadn't seen one before .. i would love to have one, in stainless

#dumptrump

opinions vary band of bubbas and STC hunting Club

Information on Ammoguide about
the416AR, 458AR, 470AR, 500AR
What is an AR round? Case Drawings 416-458-470AR and 500AR.
476AR,