New
Find
Notify
Tools

Thinning of case head
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I'm relatively new to reloading and for the first time I have several load/firing cycles on a batch of brass.

Here is a photo of one of my 375H&H cases, the life of which has consisted of:
- initial full length sizing
- 4 firings for load development, neck sizing between each (hottest load was prob 77grs of Win760)
- 5th firing with 75grs of W760
- Full length sized (bolt was getting hard to close after the 4th firing)
- sectioned the case to see what was going on

Is this batch of 5x cases ready for scrap or is there any life left in them? Is there any amount of wall thinning that is acceptable?

Posts: 257 | Location: North Carolina | Registered: 18 July 2008Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
This looks like the classic pending case head separation.
A bit unusual for "neck sized" cases. So I am interested in other options/opinions.
As to your question of scrapping the brass, I would pitch them. Brass is cheep compared to the damage that uncontrolled escaping high pressure gas can cause.

muck

Posts: 1052 | Location: Southern OHIO USA | Registered: 17 November 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of Ol` Joe
posted Hide Post
Personaly I`d scrap them, but 5 loads is not excessive IMO.

------------------------------------
The trouble with the Internet is that it's replacing masturbation as a leisure activity. ~Patrick Murray

"Why shouldn`t truth be stranger then fiction?
Fiction after all has to make sense." (Samual Clemens)

"Saepe errans, numquam dubitans --Frequently in error, never in doubt".

Posts: 2535 | Location: Michigan | Registered: 20 January 2001Reply With Quote
Picture of jeffeosso
posted Hide Post
take a new case, use a standard load, fire, and cut in half...

opinions vary band of bubbas and STC hunting Club

Information on Ammoguide about
the416AR, 458AR, 470AR, 500AR
What is an AR round? Case Drawings 416-458-470AR and 500AR.
476AR,
http://www.weaponsmith.com