Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

300 Wing Mag IMR 7828 opinions
 Login/Join

posted
I'm using 180 Accubonds and have run a lot of tests using IMR 4350 H 4831 IMR 7828 and H 1000. I've been doing my tests from 55 - 65 degrees. I wanted to do my testing in temps from 30 -50 degrees but our weather went from sub 30's right to 60's. Unreal. I've also did a lot of off the lands testing ranging from .03 - .08.

IMR 7828 is winning out in my barrel. 76 grains with .03 of lands producing .637 in 3 shot groups and .04 producing .402 3 shot groups with average speed of 3110. SD has ranged from 3104 to 3122 but enough testing on this yet. I going to try .035 of the lands and change powder by .2 grain each way to see if I can get them any tighter but hard to beat .402 inch groups.

My questions/concerns my hunting temps will be mainly from 20 - 40 degrees. I have no knowledge on IMR 7828 temperature sensitivity. 50 - 70 fps loss is not a big deal in inches out to 400 but a little more from 400 - 600. I'm more concerned about how my groups will open up with that decrease in velocity.

Any body have any experience or educated guesses how many fps I might lose and how much groups might open up? Also I could be hunting at temps around 0 (not very likely) and if that happens I'm guessing I would have to limit my shots to 300 yards but just guessing. I will be able to do this testing next fall/winter but I have a NM elk hunt in mid October so asking because of this hunt.

one of us
posted Hide Post
The variation in POI caused by a 50-70 fps variation in muzzle velocity is insignificant compared to the plethora of variables involved in shooting at 400 to 600 yards. Wind, air density, and range misjudgement ALL are much more significant.

In short, shooting at an elk at more than 400 yards is unsporting, counterproductive, and simply foolish. But an elk is a big target so you'll probably hit it -- somewhere.

Posts: 13245 | Location: Henly, TX, USA | Registered: 04 April 2001Reply With Quote