Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Crimping
 Login/Join

posted
I am new to reloading, and am doing 7mm Rem mag. I am confused about crimping, do I need to crimp? If a bullet has a cennelure is it required to be crimped?
Thanks for any help.

one of us
posted Hide Post
Don't worry about it.

Remember, forgivness is easier to get than permission.

Posts: 3991 | Location: Hudsonville MI USA | Registered: 08 June 2000Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
I don,t kknow how much rading you have done on reloading,but some people whom load bullets with cannalures like to roll crimp them,and other bullets just taper crimp them.If you want a roll crimp,the instructions to set up your dies comes in the box with them,if your using RCBS dies. A roll crimp is suggested for those whom are loading for semi-automatic rifles to insure that the bullets will not move due to the operatiion of the gun. This is why military rounds are crimped.van

Posts: 442 | Location: Idaho | Registered: 16 December 2005Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
If shooting a bolt action don't bother crimping. After sizing you have plenty of neck tension.

Posts: 1159 | Location: Florida | Registered: 16 December 2004Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
No crimp needed on any rifle except those with a tubuler magazine. If you find the perfect seating depth, the case mouth will not be at the cannelure anyway.

Posts: 4068 | Location: Bakerton, WV | Registered: 01 September 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of Fjold
posted Hide Post
IMHO, crimping is optional in 99% of the cases.

I use a compressed load in my 375 H&H so I bought the Lee factory crimp die (FCD) for it and loaded my first rounds using it. It shot scary well from the start so I've continued to use it.