Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Full v. Partial v. Neck sizing
 Login/Join

posted
I've been loading for a couple of years and to this point all of my case sizing has been full length. My next 2 projects are a Remington M700 .270 and a Kimber M84 .308. I'm thinking of either partial sizing or neck sizing only. What are the pro's and cons of all 3 methods?

One of Us
Picture of woods
posted Hide Post
horse hammering pissers stir

popcorn

better go get some milk duds too!

Chinese Proverb: When someone shares something of value with you and you benefit from it, you have a moral obligation to share it with others.

Posts: 2750 | Location: Houston, Tx | Registered: 17 January 2005Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of Kenati
posted Hide Post
Ah, c'mon Woods. Give the guy a break. It's a very legitimate question for someone who has no experience in the matter.

Yes, there are many answers to these questions and I don't feel like I am up to the task of answering the question in its entirety, but I'll kick it off. I'm sure someone on here will be more than willing to elaborate.

Full Length
PROS
    -works every time (less chance of having a stiff bolt to close or open)
    -good for when reliability is more important than extreme accuracy
    -Semi-automatic rifles generally prefer full-length or even "small base" loaded ammunition for reliability.

CONS
    -without fine tuning, a tight "crush fit" is not achieved and some play is found between the bolt face and the datum line of the cartridge.
    -The theoretical center line of the bullet/cartridge may not be in line with the center of the bore
    -can lead to shorter case life due to "work hardening" the brass

Partial Sizing
    Somewhere in between the above and below methods with a few nuisances of each

Neck Sizing Only
PROS
    -great for squeezing the last bit of accuracy out of a bolt gun (ie. the benchrest crowd)