New
Find
Notify
Tools

Blown primer --BIG time !!
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I had an exciting little lesson. The wife and I were shooting our 03 Springfields (old Buddies) and the wife was standing beside me watching thru binocs. 150 grain speers and my usual load of 4831 --no biggie! Kablooie, I get a face load of gas and Wife got blasted from the safety hole on the side of the reciever.The bolt was locked. Took both of us to lever it open. Primer fell out and the whole base of the brass was expanded! WOW --I have been loading since 1976 and never had any thing close to this!I got spooked and pulled all the bullets and weighed powder--everything right on. No chance of a double load and my routine is very safe. Drove me crazy !!! I pick up brass everywhere I go. This one aparently had been in a camp fire and was quenched with water. Hmmm -- isn't that the way you aneal brass? After close inspection the light bulb in my little head came on. That soft brass let go and flowed any direction it could. Lesson learned!!

Posts: 68 | Location: Wasilla Alaska | Registered: 09 February 2003Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
My cousin did the same thing once. He picked up a case from when his parents house burned down and then loaded and fired it. I remember the rifle was a 25-06 but I don't remember if the case was a 25-06 or a reformed 30-06. Same result, I think he put a new ejector in that Remington from that little stunt. That may have been the one where he had brass removed from his eyebrow and forehead.
You can never be too careful when the history of a piece of brass is involved. If there is ever a question, pitch it. New brass is almost free by comparison.
P.S. Never reform 30-06 blanks and shoot them in a 25-06.
Joe

Posts: 208 | Location: Oregon | Registered: 25 May 2005Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
That sounds exciting. I've had a primer or two back out, but nothing like that.

Jaywalker