Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

.300 H&H
 Login/Join

posted
Okay, I've been reloading the cartridge for a couple of years now. I have the Ruger #1 but I also have a custom heavy rifle built by Randy Selby based on Rem 700 action. As anticipated the space above the belt or web area gets a little bloated after firing. Before I FL resize I use a Colette die to fix this bloating. When I then FL resize I have been bumping the shoulder back .002" or close to that. With this method most fired brass doesn't need neck trimming. My question is would bumping back the shoulders a little more reduce the amount of bloating above the belt?

BTW, accuracy is unbelievable, extraction is a breeze, and MV can be right up there with the rest of the .30 caliber magnums. I shoot right alongside the .300 WM. I bring the MV to about 100 fps below spotting mushrooming around the the firing pin indent on the LR primers. So, 2800 fps for 190 grain bullet. Brass is acceptable and I have yet had to stop using a brass shell because of brass failure. I generally ruin a brass shell while resizing because of my own fault. For a while I was neck sizing and that isn't a good idea with the cartridge.

This is the Collet die I use...

http://www.larrywillis.com/diewcollet.jpg

Posts: 20 | Location: Roswell NM | Registered: 20 January 2012Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of ledvm
posted Hide Post
I use the "belted magnum die" as well. Good tool. The bulge will form even if you bump the shoulder back more. The bulge is due to the belt not allowing standard FL dies to travel far enough down the case.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
J. Lane Easter, DVM

A born Texan has instilled in his system a mind-set of no retreat or no surrender. I wish everyone the world over had the dominating spirit that motivates Texans.– Billy Clayton, Speaker of the Texas House