Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

.243 Winchester Reloading problem
 Login/Join

posted
Hey guys, I am new to this fourm and really need help. I have been loading for years and never had this problem. I have an old Lyman Spartan press from the 50's or 60's I acquired from my Uncle. I set the die down till it touches the shell holder and it makes good contact. I am running these rounds through a Remington 700, when I use the resized brass the bolt will push it in to the chamber but when I lock the bolt down it will not grab the live round or the resized brass to Extract it. The rifle will cycle factory Ammo just fine so I do not have a Head spacing problem. Everyone I have spoken with has never encountered a problem like this. Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

yoteman89

Posts: 10 | Location: South Eastern Ohio | Registered: 25 September 2012Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of hivelosity
posted Hide Post
What type of die are you using?
X type fl resize or neck size?
Is it a push feed or control feed bolt ?
If the rim is too thick or has been reduced in size the extractor will miss the grove.
with an X die the brass is pushed backand may be taking up the space at the extractor grouve.
Dave

Posts: 2134 | Location: Ohio | Registered: 26 June 2000Reply With Quote
posted Hide Post
I am using lyman full length dies.

Posts: 10 | Location: South Eastern Ohio | Registered: 25 September 2012Reply With Quote
posted Hide Post
Also it is a push feed bolt.

one of us
Picture of hivelosity
posted Hide Post
take a resized piece of brass and see how well it fits into the face of the bolt.
Try resizing a piece of brass part way and see if the extractor picks up the brass and ejects it. if the chamber is a little on the large sizeand the brass on the small side the brass could be pushed to one side of the chambe and the extractor may not catch the grouve.
that would be an extreme set of conditions.
Dave

Posts: 2134 | Location: Ohio | Registered: 26 June 2000Reply With Quote