Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

So Many Questions!
 Login/Join

posted
I am new at reloading and I have a lot of questions. Some are probably very basic, but I just want to make sure of some things before I get started. Ok here I go.
1. I have been picking up a lot of brass at the range. Some of it is mine some of it is not. Will I see a difference in accuracy by mixing the different manufacturers of the brass?

2. How many times can I reload my used brass? When will I know its time to replace?

3. My handgun is a HK USP .45. I have seen lead reloads in some catalogs. Are these ok for target loads? Will lead harm my barrel?

4. Where in the hell can I get some large pistol primers and some large rifle primers? I have everything I need to reload, tooling, powder, bullets, brass, but I cannot find primers anywhere.

Ok this will do for now, I guess that was not as many questions as I thought. Any help would be appreciated.

One of Us
Picture of Slowpoke Slim
posted Hide Post
To your question #1,

You only list one caliber, 45 acp, but since you're asking about rifle primers, I assume you're loading for more than just 45 acp. For the 45 acp, I would say, just load the mixed brass and you'll be fine. I doubt you'd be able to see any difference in accuracy at the distances and types of targets you'd be shooting at.

For rifles though, yes mixed brass can have an accuracy impact, "it depends" though on many factors, so I would say "Maybe".

Question #2:

For 45 acp, I've loaded practice ammo until you almost can't read the headstamps at all. My practice ammo is a bit mild, but I'm sure I have over 10 reloads per on my practice brass.

Rifles are different. Sometimes you'll see a bright ring ahead of the case head. Sometimes the primers will get loose in the primer pocket (you'll feel it when you seat the new primer). Sometimes you'll split a neck.