New
Find
Notify
Tools

Wanted: average bullet for deer
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I'm fairly new to shooting and just starting down the road of reloading. It is important to point out that I live in the UK and so access to components is variable to difficult. I'm reloading for a 308, changing the rifle is not an option as it would take at least 12 months to do the paper work.

I've read a lot about premium bullets and in time I might get around to reloading some partitions or similar. However, as most of my shooting is done on the range and as I might get 3 or 4 shots at deer in a year I got to thinking. Deer aren't hard to kill and it would be nice to shoot only one bullet to start with. Once I gain experience and practise then I can mess about with other options.

With this in mind would anyone care to suggest a relatively inexpensive bullet that would give me acceptable performance on deer and be a useful test bed for my first steps in reloading for game? I'm probably looking for something in the 150 - 165 grain range. Just looking at Midway UK I see Winchester Power-Points, Speer Hot-Cor, Sierra Pro-Hunter and Remington Core-Lokt as examples that are all in a similar price range and that I suspect will do the job well on deer. All comments and advice gratefully received but remember that I'm just looking for something average that will do my job.

Currently under the supervision of my mentor I'm loading 110 grain V-Max as a plinking round just because they were actually available and on hand. A round for deer will be my next experiment hence the question.

one of us
posted Hide Post
For me the sierra pro hunter and the hornady spire points are very accurate and will get the job done on deer. Cor locks and win power points are good bullets but they are kind of made with bulk reloading in mind and just don't seem to be as accurate for me.

Posts: 2002 | Location: central wi | Registered: 13 September 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
quote: