New
Find
Notify
Tools

44 Mag 240 swc and Gas Checks
 Login/Join

<HKG3>
posted
I am new to reloading and have not loaded any cast bullets.

I bought some Hornady 240 SWC and would like to load up some target rounds for my SuperRedhawk 44 7.5" bbl.

Should I use Gas checks? and any recommended Target loads would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance
HKG3

<Paladin>
posted
Most of the .44 Magnum junkies settled on using from 7.5 to 8.0 grains of Unique with the 240-grain lead bullets. This is their "target" load and it apparently is very satisfying.

At this level of loading, a brass gascheck is not necessary, but can be helpful when sizing and lubricating. It may be just as convenient or more so to tumblelube the slugs and use them as-cast.

<jagtip>
posted
HK.....It depends on the heel of the bullet.If the bullet is designed to be used with gas checks,then use gas checks.If it's not,then don't.If you're talking about factory swaged bullets,there are none that I'm aware of that are designed to be used with gas checks.Swaged,non jacketed bullets are normally very soft and will lead the barrel badly if driven at high velocity.

<HKG3>
posted
I bought them midwayusa, they are Hornady 240gr swc.
So do I understand correctly that I dont need gas checks? as I probably am going to try 8 to 8.5 gr of unique.

Thanks everyone
HK

<Chuck>
posted
HK,
The Hornady SWCs are very soft, swaged lead, and won't take much velocity, so the loads you are looking at are about the heaviest that you would want to try with this bullet.
You also might try about 7 grains of WW231. Check for some .44 Special data to give you a better idea about light target loads for .44 mag.

<jagtip>
posted