New
Find
Notify
Tools

Which bullet to try????????????/
 Login/Join

<Hunter333>
posted
I am pretty new to reloading so I have a question............ I have loaded Hornaday both molly and hollow point. I have also loaded Nosler ballistic tips and Speer ....... Question is..... how do I know which of the dozens of bullets out there to try? Some of them arent cheap!! When at Gander, I saw some competition bullets from Nosler, I think. I would like to be as accurate as possible, even at short ranges. What should I stay away from and what is a good bullet to buy? Thanks for the help

------------------

<Don G>
posted
What caliber are you loading? Are you hunting or target shooting?

For target shooting it is hard to beat the Sierra MatchKing series of bullets. Pretty much if a rifle won't shoot them, it won't shoot. But they are not for hunting, except possibly varmints.

For everyday USA deer hunting it is hard to beat Hornady for a combination of performance and price.

Give us more information, there's a lot of experience here. Don't expect the same advice from everybody, though, that's why all those bullet makers are still in business!

Don

<robbnsc>
posted
I have had really good luck with Nosler Ballistic-Tips in several calibers. I use the Noslers with BR-2-CCI-Bench Rest primers and IMR-4350 powder. In my .243 this combination will shoot 1/4" groups.

<BMG>
posted
I also use Nosler BT in many calibers. My .22 centerfires eat up the 55gr and my .300 Win loves the 180gr pills (I like to shoot the heavier bullets due to less wind deflection at looong ranges).

HOWEVER,
1) If I am shooting for fur, I use the Hornady 35gr BT in my .223 (the .220 Swift keyholes them at 4200fps if they don't blow up before they reach the target, they were meant for the .22 Hornet).

2) The Sierra 55gr BT (green) shoot the same point-to-aim as the Nosler BT in the same weight (at least up to 200m, I have not compared them at 600yds).

WHAT IS YOUR: