THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM FORUMS

Page 1 2 

Moderators: Mark
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

WHy can't I get Barnes Bullets to Shoot?
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
Serious question...

I've been loading ammo since the 1970s. Hundreds of thousands of rounds... (I shot competitively for a long time--so that
s a good number) I've tried Barnes bullets in at least 5 calibers and probably 8 different cartridges. I've tried factory ammo and reloads. I can't get them to group for squat.

Case in point...today. Shooting my Accumark Mark V in 300 Wby. My handloads with 200gr Hornady ELDX bullets and 76gr of VV 560 put three rounds in 5/8" at 100 yards off a sandbag on my truck hood. Yet the same gun cooled down before I shot it grouped 3.5" with factory Weatherby Ammo loaded with 180gr TTSX bullets. It Sucked.

And just to make a point...my pet Sako .270 Winchester put three handloaded 130gr BTs into a tiny cloverleaf...as usual...God I love R22 in that gun/caliber!

Today was representative of my Barnes experience. What am I doing wrong. I WANT to like the Barnes bullets but damn....

One of Us
posted Hide Post
There is a “sweet spot” on bullet seating depth/distance from rifling with TSX and TTSX bullets, in my .300 WM it is .045”, in my .338-06 it is .060. I think Barnes suggests starting at .050”. It takes a bit of experimentation but I get you can find that sweet spot.
I use and like RL 22 as well, by far most accurate powder in my .300 WM

Karl Evans

Posts: 2901 | Location: Emhouse, Tx | Registered: 03 February 2010Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of dpcd
posted Hide Post
The admittedly limited experience I have with Barnes has resulted in less than stellar accuracy; that plus the high cost led me long ago to stick with the antique bullets made from lead with copper jackets.
They still kill stuff.

Posts: 17275 | Location: USA | Registered: 02 August 2009Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by dpcd: