Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Some reloading starter questions
 Login/Join

posted
Hi, I guess I'll start out buy saying I've had it with buying manufactured ammo, I would like to shoot more than I do but rising ammo prices are making it hard to afford anymore. Going out with a few friends shooting for a day is becoming few and far between. I have a number of firearms (12 guage, 7.62x39, .308, .223 etc...) I'm new to reloading all together, I've just started researching about it online, Would a single stage press (+ needed caliber dies for my guns) cover all my reloading needs? Does reloading shot take a different press altogether?

Sorry if these question seem dumb to most of you that have been doing this for a long time, I guess you have to start somewhere.

If anyone knows of any websites I can research, that would be great. What are some of the better presses? Are there any I should stay away from? I was thinking about purchasing a used press, Is this a good idea?

I'm interested in getting something that I can use to reload a lot of rounds, I'll more than likely get suckered into reloading for friends (or let them use the press themselves) I myself, can easily go through a few hundred rounds in a day, so I'm looking for something easy to use, so I can sit down and do reloads for a long period of time.

Thanks.

One of Us
posted Hide Post
Visit a local shop, that sells reloading gear. Purchase a reloading manual. Read the "Introduction to Reloading" section start to finish. Then read it again, making notes of anything that you don't understand. Come back here and ask questions.

NRA Patron Life Member Benefactor Level

Posts: 1283 | Registered: 15 December 2008Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
quote: