THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM FORUMS

Accuratereloading.com    The Accurate Reloading Forums    THE ACCURATE RELOADING.COM FORUMS  Hop To Forum Categories  Guns, Politics, Gunsmithing & Reloading  Hop To Forums  Reloading    Excessive case trimming may indicate what problem?

Moderators: Mark
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Excessive case trimming may indicate what problem?
 Login/Join

posted
Guys,

I am new to reloading. I made my first batch of reloads yesterday. The factory shells from the gun came out deformed at the mouth and case needed trimming. I trimmed back and went to shoot another batch and when I came home they where again stretched to the point where I had to trim back. Is this normal or is there a problem with my gun? The caliber that I am shooting 30-06 with Federal brass. The rifle is a Husqvarna model 9000. The powder charge was H4350 54 grains with Hornady 180g BTSP bullets.

Thanks,

Claude

one of us
posted Hide Post

Claude,

"The factory shells from the gun came out deformed at the mouth"

Please describe what you mean by deformed. What did they look like?

knobmtn

Posts: 221 | Location: central Pa. | Registered: 29 November 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of Bob338
posted Hide Post
Oversizing or too much headspace in the chamber. In either case, it's oversizing your brass.

When you size, don't set the shoulder of the resized case more than a thousandth or two. That still might not take care of the problem if the chamber is sloppy and the neck area is too big. In that case you'll have to have the die altered somewhat to reduce the oversizing.

Posts: 1261 | Location: Placerville, CA, US of A | Registered: 07 January 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
A few things that cause frequent trimming are not trimming enough, over FL sizing, too much sizing down and up at the neck by the die, dies that are made wrong and a chamber that's oversize on the body of the case.