New
Find
Notify
Tools

bullet for whitetail in a 25-06
 Login/Join

<Steve in MI>
posted
I read the other post on this but it did not cover what I am lloking to find out. I have been tossing around two bullets 100 grn nolser BT and a 100 grn Barnes(??) I have used the BT in 7 mm before with great results. I contacted Nolser they told me that the 100 are a heavier jacket unlike the varmint type. I have a load that is driving at 3440 with a 100 grn MK now. I am new to reloading to the 25-06. I do mostly 30 cals. I am looking for good stopping power and penetration.

one of us
posted Hide Post
I used the 100 bt on a deer that would have been close to 250lbs went 30 yrds at most. The bullet destroyed the lungs and heart and the base of the bullet was under the hide on the opposite side. I waited for the broad side shot and would not have taken the shot unless I had that shot. I was shooting a 25/06 with a full load of rl22. If your hunting situation will not allow you to be very choosy on your shot I would go with a 100gr or 120 partition. I plan on trying the 115 bt this year myself.

Posts: 178 | Location: Canada | Registered: 03 February 2001Reply With Quote
<Jeff in ND>
posted
I used 95gr BT's in my 243AI last year and had great results on 2 deer and an antelope.

The largest deer, a decent sized buck was shot through the shoulder and the bullet exited the opposite side shoulder so I would not worry about penetration on deer with BT's (The Big Game version).

I hope to use the 100gr BT in mt 257DGR this year in ND and WI if I can find a load that will shoot accurately. If the BT's don't shoot I'm going to use 100gr Sierra GameKings or 85gr Nosler BT's

Good Hunting
Jeff in ND

<Steve in MI>
posted