New
Find
Notify
Tools

Re: Handloading the 300 WSM: Velocity Problems
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I am relatively new to handloading. I have loaded for both the 300 Weatherby and 22-250 Remington. I am now starting to work-up loads for a new 300 WSM. Yesterday, I shot 180 gr. Speer Grand Slams using both Re22 and IMR4831. Let's focus on the Re22. The starting charge for this powder published by Speer is 64.5 gr and should develop 2797 ft/s with a 24" barrel (1-10 twist). The rifle I shot has a somewhat shorter 22-7/16" barrel with a 1-11 twist. My velocities are consistently well below the published values. For example at the starting charge, my velocities were: 2494, 2525, 2511, and 2499 (average of 2,507 ft/s). These velocities are about 10% below published. Why the big difference? I would expect a slightly shorter barrel would yield a little lower velocity but 10%. Any suggestions here? Should I move up to a faster burning powder with the shorter barrel?

Thanks,
douglast

Posts: 294 | Location: Waunakee, WI USA | Registered: 10 February 2004Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
You answered your own question with your last sentence. RE22 is way too slow for the 300 WSM. The slowest I have ever tried was IMR 7828, It shot bad groups, so I never checked velocities on that load. I'm surprised Speer even had it listed. My best results were with XMR AA4350, H -4831SC and RE-19. I tried WW 760, but found it ran into pressure problems well before getting close to published velocity. 760 might be okay for 150 grainers, never tried it there.

With your shorter barrel, you're not going to get what is listed for a 24" barrel. My Browning with it's 23 inch barrel is actually quite close to what the 24 inchers run for velocity.

Posts: 596 | Location: Oshkosh, Wi USA | Registered: 28 July 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post