New
Find
Notify
Tools

Extending case life
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I've been reloading for many years now and up to this point all I've ever done is full length size. However now that brass prices are getting high I've been considering neck sizing only to help extend the life of the brass. I only have one gun for each round so chambering shouldn't be a problem but my question is do I need to turn my necks if I'm neck sizing only and will annealing accomplish the same goal of extending brass life?

Posts: 314 | Location: SW Missouri | Registered: 08 August 2007Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Full length sizing can indeed shorten case life. Several things effect that case life when the are Full length resized, ful or partial resize, fit between chamber size and FL die, pressure of load, quality of brass, and type of action. An indicator that case life will be short is having to trim every 2-3 sizings so case neck is not longer than chamber neck. Several things you can do to extend case are;

Use RCBS X-die, if available for the cartridge. This full length die prevents case stretching and you will get maximum case life.

Neck size the cases. This also will maximize case life especially if pressure levels are not maximum. This is probably the best method. Cases must be dedicated to one rifle and it must be a single shot or bolt action. Lighter loads may be necksized only in lever guns but full power loads will need full length sizing.

Anneal the case necks. When to anneal varies. If one case neck splits of the necks start "chattering " when pulled over the expander ball it is time to anneal.

Shoot lighter loads with less pressure for practice can also greatly extend case life.

BTW; when you mentioned "turning the necks" I assumed you ment trimming the cases in the context of your post. Turning necks uniforms the neck thickness and does nothing for case life. Trimming is necessary when full length sizing.

Larry Gibson