Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

New guy starting up <- Advise me please
 Login/Join

posted
Hey guys, I'm new to the whole reloading game but I have about 80k of spent brass from military 5.56. I've pumped out a few rounds on my buddies single station and it worked will for about a hundred rounds of .45. But I'm looking for something a little bigger/faster.

I've been debating between the Dillon XL650 and the Hornady AP. An expereinced friend told me he's leaning towards Hornady now after using Dillon for a few years. And the automatic bullet feeder is going to be a nice addition when they start making it for rifle ammo.

Where I need help is ordering to get started, I have a pretty good understanding of powders/bullets/primers but not the actually machinery.

Here's what I plan on ordering so far. It's all from Amazon, that where I'm finding the best prices and it's all in stock

Hornady Lock N Load Auto-Progressive Reloading Press - $439.99
Hornady Electronic Scale (1500 Grains) $34.93
Hornady Digital Caliper $23.56
Hornady Primer Turning Plate $8.04
Frankford Arsenal Master Tumbler Kit $71.31
I'll get a stainless steel media tumbler also
Hornady Lock N Load Powder Measure $69.59
(I'm not sure if one comes with the press)
Hornady Lock N Load Automatic Case Feeder(110 VT) $369.99
Where I need help is picking out the right Die set, 2 or 3?
Will I need a swager because it's military standard and which one do you guys rec?
I'm sure there's little bits and pieces I'm over looking too. This is my first time writing on a forum so hopefully there's enough info here to get started. I have a pretty big budget to work with and I'm going to look to reload a lot of pistol ammo also but I'll save that for another time.

Thanks a lot guys

One of Us
Picture of dpcd
posted Hide Post