New
Find
Notify
Tools

Which 6mm??
 Login/Join

<1_pointer>
posted
I am planning on building a break open single shot (Encore)in 6mm to shoot 'yotes mainly and possibly pronghorns and deer with and was wondering what you would suggest?? The gun will be wearing a 27" barrel. Thanks for any and all advice.

[This message has been edited by 1_pointer (edited 12-28-2001).]

posted Hide Post
How about a 6mm-.284 or a 6mm-06?

George

------------------
Shoot straight, shoot often, but by all means, use enough gun!

Posts: 14623 | Location: San Antonio, TX | Registered: 22 May 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
6mm Gibbs, 244 H&H, 6mm-300 Weatherby

Posts: 3097 | Location: Louisiana | Registered: 28 November 2001Reply With Quote
<leo>
posted
Actually with a barrel that long either .243 win. or 6mm rem. would be plenty fast. Use 100 grain partitions.

<1_pointer>
posted
I'm sorry, I should have given a little more background info. I am new to rifles and reloading, but I still want something 'different'. I had considered the 6/284 or 6mm RemAI. After a little research I felt I could handle forming these cases. However, I appreciate all the suggestions. I do have a few more questions. For the 240Gibs, how hard is brass to form? How does it compare to the two chamberings mentioned above?? and with the 244 H&H how hard is brass to come by?? In Cartridges of the World they list the 6/284 as getting 3600fps with a 70gr bullet and the 6mmAI as getting 3900fps. Is there really that much difference in the two. Anyone have experience with either of the Lazzeroni cartridges in 6mm???

Thanks for all the input, I'm looking for all opinions before I start this project this summer.

[This message has been edited by 1_pointer (edited 12-28-2001).]

one of us
posted Hide Post
Sorry but the words new to rifles and reloading and wildcat do not mix very well.