New
Find
Notify
Tools

N135 and 6.5/6 TCU
 Login/Join

<UCLADave>
posted
Does anyone use N135 in a 6.5 or 6 TCU. I'm looking for load data. I haven't been able to find any info. I need a starting load for fireforming cases and a max load. As far as bullets go, I'll be using 120 and 100's in the 6.5 TCU and 80's in the 6 TCU. I'd be grateful for any help.

Thanks,

Dave

<AKI>
posted
Hi Dave. I have no experience of the TCUs but I made a wildcat, something like 30-222 Rem max Improved, and did some maths around these case volumes and calibers. Using the formulae in Geoffrey Kolbes A Ballistic Handbook the N135 seems to be a bit slow for the job. Please note that I used a "usable case wolume" of 25.5 grains of water (223 Rem case). It should be close but nothing to base a max load on.
N135 might work in the 6 though N133 should be closer. In the 6.5mm N130 should be close to filling the case, but N133 and even N120 should work. I would personally start at 18gr N133 in both calibers though I don�t recommend it for anyone else. Max loads are rifle specific and should be approached slowly and with great caution. Take care! AKI

one of us
posted Hide Post
UCLADave

I�m not sure exactly how the 6 TCU look like, if Im�not all wrong it�s a 6mm/.223??

I�ve made a 6/.223 for a good friend and we use N-133 in that rifle with 70 gr bullets. I would say that N-135 is a bit slow in that case.

We have tried loads up to about 28 gr. with N-133, but up there the pressure signs was quite obvious. We satteled for about 26 gr of N-133 for roe deers and black grouse.

I fireformed cases with 18 gr of N-130 and 70 gr. bullets.

Hey AKI!

Have you tried the 9,3 Oryx bullets yet

I got two really nice sixpointers and a spiker in Bamb�le Sep 1

It will probably take a loooong time before I shoot three roe bucks in one day again

Stefan

Posts: 635 | Location: Umea/Sweden | Registered: 28 October 2000Reply With Quote
<Mats>
posted
quote:
Originally posted by Stefan: