THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM FORUMS

Moderators: Mark
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Waiting between shots at the range? How long?
 Login/Join

<Hunter333>
posted
While I am new to range shooting.... I was wondering how long to wait between shots when I am shooting for accuracy? What do you do while you wait? Do I need to clean the barrel inbetween shots? Also, if I am shooting different bullets/loads, do I change my scope for each type? thanks for your help!!

------------------

one of us
posted Hide Post
I think it depends on you and your rifle/handgun. I have one rifle that has a thin barrel. After 3 shots I let it cool down. When I shoot my other rifles, it depends on me. Some days I will shot one right after another and on other days I will take a break after every couple of shots or so. It also depends on if I am shooting a heavy recoiling load. In between shots, I usually just sit in a chair and relax.

It also depends on the weather conditions. On windy days I will wait for the wind to die and shoot as many good shots as I can in the calm.

I do all of the cleaning after I'm done shooting.

Posts: 598 | Location: Missouri | Registered: 16 June 2000Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of Zero Drift
posted Hide Post
Hunter333 - This is an often discussed and disputed topic. Simply Stated - If it is very hot to the touch, let your gun cool. Depending upon the loads you are shooting and the condition of your barrel, cleaning may be necessary between strings to ensure accuracy. Without getting into the barrel break-in argument once again, I would suggest that you clean between strings of 10 to 20 rounds. I generally shoot between 3 and 5 rounds per string when working up loads and testing accuracy.

Z

Posts: 10780 | Location: Test Tube | Registered: 27 February 2001Reply With Quote
<Michael Swickard>
posted
Hunter333

<I was wondering how long to wait between <shots when I am shooting for accuracy?