New
Find
Notify
Tools

shelf life of loaded ammo and powder
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
How long will my smokeless powder be good for if kept in a dry and cool environ? How long can I expect my reloads to last and be safe to shoot? I've been loading for 10 years now and wonder is some of the powder I originally bought is getting "old". Your input will be appreciated.
JB

Posts: 116 | Location: Juneau, Alaska, U.S.A. | Registered: 25 September 2001Reply With Quote
Administrator
posted Hide Post
John,

I have used ammo loaded over 20 years ago. It still works just fine. Also, we have had powder for about that long, and it still functions fine.

------------------
saeed@ emirates.net.ae

www.accuratereloading.com

Posts: 66927 | Location: Dubai, UAE | Registered: 08 January 1998Reply With Quote
<Bill T>
posted
John: I agree with Saeed. Properly stored, ammunition and powder has an almost indefinate shelf life. I've fired reloaded ammo that is over 25 years old with very good results. The same with powder and primers. The key is HOW it's stored. COOL and DRY is very important. Nothing will kill off components faster than heat and moisture. Bill T.

one of us
posted Hide Post
I date all my loads and just shot some that was loaded in 1981 same vel. as the newer stuff as long as you keep it dry and cool it well last a very long time.

Posts: 19359 | Location: wis | Registered: 21 April 2001Reply With Quote
<Don G>
posted
Last year I shot several hundred rounds of 308 ammo that I had loaded in '74 or '75. I still got sub-MOA groups, no fliers or squibs.

The ammo had been dragged all over Texas, including the Gulf Coast for those 25+ years. It was in a GI ammo can that had been stored in various sheds, barns and carports for that time.

Don

one of us
posted Hide Post
A couple weeks ago, I shot some 1950's Egyptian 8x57, that has been sitting in a cardboard box, in a tool shed for 10years. My M48 Yugo put 5 shot's in less than an inch at 100yds.