New
Find
Notify
Tools

Powder and Bullet Questions
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
Well I'm just getting started at reloading, so Saturday I bought a box of 50 grn Blitzkings #1450 and H4198 for my first try at handloading. I plan on running these through a 700 222 and 700 22-250.

Keep in mind the store I bought this from closed it's doors at 5 pm Saturday for good (they had a big sale, 50% off).

So I get home and the bullet is not listed in the Sierra 4th edition, but the worst part is the seal on the powder jar seemed the be unsealed around a short length of the rim (they have a seal like a vitamin or tylenol bottle).

So my question is, could somebody have fooled with it, should I use it or burn it or as the Sierra site recommends use it as fertilizer (never would have thought it would be safe for that, i guess just throw out by hand and water in good).

The Sierra site says to use the same reload data at the other 50 grn bullets but I sent them mail for the suggested CAOL. I checked the 222 by putting a bullet in dummy case and chambering and came up with 2.288 which is a little longer than the case trim length (1.690) + bullet length - .224 = 2.258. So with .010 clearance, .020 doesn't seem too much difference.

Any suggestions?

Thanks,

RJS

Posts: 210 | Location: North Texas | Registered: 03 August 2001Reply With Quote
<Daryl Elder>
posted