New
Find
Notify
Tools

Fire Forming Problems
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I'm working with my first wildcat round a .280 GNR which is a necked down and improved .405 Win case. Performance from an Encore pistol is about the same as a .280 AI. I followed Reeders fire form loads of 50 grains of H4350 and 140 grain bullet I did however substitute a LR primer for the LRM primer in his data. Accuracy was so-so @ 50 yards, but I'm blaming that on me as this is my first attempt into a pistol platform for hunting.

I was forming the last 20 unformed rounds that I got when I picked up this barrel. Out of that 20 rounds I had 11 cases formed perfectly. 8 had splits in the shoulder, but the one that worried me the most had a large dent in the body.

What would cause this to happen?

one of us
posted Hide Post
I would suggest you have a couple problems.After necking down the 405 cases to 7mm you have now work hardened the necks. The hard necks are resulting in the necks splitting when fired. The large dent in the body is likely a combination of hard necks and low pressure. Normally the neck should be annealed so it is quite soft. This allows the neck to expand easily and form the gas seal between the neck of the case and the chamber wall.If the neck is too hard or if the chamber pressure is too low that seal is not made properly and some gas gets by the neck. This gas created the large dent in the side of the case. To correct your problem I would suggest you anneal your cases before you fireform them. Your fireform load is quite mild and you switching from a mag primer to a std primer made it milder yet. That likely contributed to your problem. Hope that helps

Posts: 2442 | Location: manitoba canada | Registered: 01 March 2001Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post