Find
Notify
Tools

Head spacing
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted Hide Post
Slamfire:

Great post. I'm still digesting it so this is a preliminary response.

My background is Geotechnical/geology/earth science.

My Grandson is in his second year of advanced engineering and he is a chip off of the block "aficionado" of firearms like his Grandpa.

Picture of jeffeosso
posted Hide Post
quote:
"Headspace" is something that must be controlled between the ammunition and chamber for safe reliable functioning of a firearm.

No, it's not - Headspace is the length from breech to datum. The end, period. Class dismissed.

resizing brass is what we are discussing as headspace is a GUNSMITHING term, and, frankly, nothing to do with what we are talking about. A rifle can have "0" headpsace .. or even less than minimum (it can happen, and does, several times, while chambering a barrel) and then -- resizing brass.

Nothing you can do, within reason, changes headspace of the gun. You CAN change how you resize, and many people, mistakenly, call this head space.

sigh - this isn't that hard guys - get a sharpie and partially resize.

opinions vary band of bubbas and STC hunting Club

Information on Ammoguide about
the416AR, 458AR, 470AR, 500AR
What is an AR round? Case Drawings 416-458-470AR and 500AR.
476AR,
http://www.weaponsmith.com

Posts: 39598 | Location: Conroe, TX | Registered: 01 June 2002Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of dpcd
posted Hide Post
Been sleeping on this one. I agree with everything Jeff said.
I disagree with Slam on the "brass can't carry any load" theory; it is invalid. It is easy to prove.
And for whoever suggested it; who said I owned a toothbrush anyway? Anyway, once I set the die for a particular chamber, I have no need for a gauge, which costs money, which I avoid spending, which is more efficient. Works for me.

Posts: 17275 | Location: USA | Registered: 02 August 2009Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
quote: