Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

New guy with AR15 question.
 Login/Join

posted
Hello all! I'm pretty new to reloading and have a few questions that I hope someone can help me with.
I have been reloading for ar's for a few years now but until recently haven't had this problem.
I have been trying to find an accurate load for a newer 16" M4gery and am striking out so far. I bought some Hornady bulk .55 gr fmjbt's and am loading with 24 gr of H335. This has usually been a good load with other ar's but am having issues getting the rifle to group below 3" @ 100 yards. In fact, every round I have fired through it (federal, wolf, winchester )stays around 3"??
I have tried setting O.A.L from 2.200 to 2.600 and everything in between with no luck.
Any ideas. You help would be greatly appreciated.

One of Us
Picture of ted thorn
posted Hide Post
Welcome to AR but I have bad news.....
I am not a black rifle guy but if everything is 3" things are bad. Good luck.

Posts: 7361 | Location: South East Missouri | Registered: 23 November 2005Reply With Quote
posted Hide Post
Well, I have actually been getting .35-.48" strings of three then a flier then another .38-.39" or so.. So actually it's fliers that are making the groups so bad. Very frustrating. I should have said that to begin with, but I usually have strings of 10 rounds and get 2-3 fliers every 2-3 rounds? Doesn't happen with the other rifles though....?

One of Us
Picture of Not_Infringed
posted Hide Post
Are you able to get better groups with other ammo?

Are you using front and rear sandbags on a bench? Barrel nut tight? Maybe its time to get a reduced trigger pull kit and polish the sears.

A buddy of mine bought some .223 69gr BTHP Hornady's and it seems their quality is somewhat lacking. You might want to try Sierra or Nosler bullets.

I found that when I switched to Varget (from H322) that my group sizes did get smaller.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------