Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

accidental powder mix
 Login/Join

posted
I am a rookie to reloading and made a rookie mistake by having multiple powder containers out at once. I inadvertently mixed about half a hopper of H4895 with basically a full 1 lb. of Bullseye. So not that much of the rifle powder in with the pistol. I am assuming and going to act on the logic that this powder is now trash and needs to be disposed of. I did want to see if anybody had any experience with this weak rifle to pistol blend though. With the minimal rifle powder in there and the slower burn rate, would the load for a 45ACP be dangerous? I am not too worried about accuracy, I can deal with that on my own. Thanks

Posts: 1 | Location: Kansas | Registered: 30 November 2013Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of Wstrnhuntr
posted Hide Post
If it were my powder, I would treat it like a deceased K-9. Take it out and bury it.

How much is a lb of powder? And what is the value of your well being?

Posts: 10164 | Location: Tooele, Ut | Registered: 27 September 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
After 35 years of reloading without incident I did a similar thing last year. Emptied a nearly full hopper of H110 into nearly full pound of H4831. I knew better than to have two different powders out but got lax. It happens. Spread it on the lawn for fertilizer.

Mart

"...I advise the gun. While this gives a moderate exercise to the body, it gives boldness, enterprize, and independance to the mind. Games played with the ball and others of that nature, are too violent for the body and stamp no character on the mind. Let your gun therefore be the constant companion of your walks." Thomas Jefferson

Posts: 993 | Location: Wasilla, AK | Registered: 22 December 2002Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Dump it out and buy some more. Chalk it up as a learning opportunity! Smiler

Posts: 39 | Location: Saskatoon, SASKATCHEWAN | Registered: 08 November 2011Reply With Quote
One of Us