New
Find
Notify
Tools

Newbie -- questions
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
Background: I'm new to reloading, using Sierra GameKing 165 grain Spitzer bullets to load .30-06 rounds in front of IMR 4064 as per the Sierra Handbook 5th Edition. I'm using a Lee reloading press with Lee dies.

Questions:

1. The C.O.A.L. is listed as 3.330", which makes it look a little long to my eye. I made a dummy round and tried to chamber it in the intended firearm, a Savage 114 Classic, and it seems a little stiff when closing the bolt. Is this a problem?

2. The GameKing does not have a crimp line, so of course I didn't use a crimp. Is this a problem?

Posts: 143 | Location: SE Wyoming | Registered: 28 November 2004Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
1. Is it a F/L die set up according to the instructions that came with it?

2. New brass or once fired?

3. If 1x, was it fired in your rifle?

4. Never mind about the crimp.

Aim for the exit hole

Posts: 4348 | Location: middle tenn | Registered: 09 December 2009Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of rick boggs
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by wasbeeman:
1. Is it a F/L die set up according to the instructions that came with it?

2. New brass or once fired?

3. If 1x, was it fired in your rifle?

4. Never mind about the crimp.
+1

Posts: 518 | Location: KENTUCKY | Registered: 05 November 2008Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
1. Yes, a full length die set up using the instructions that came with it.

2. New brass (Winchester). I noticed that the mouth on these was anything but uniform, so I did run them through the F/L resizer.

3. N/A.

4. If I were to be using a .30-06 BAR would that make a difference regarding the crimp issue?

Posts: 143 | Location: SE Wyoming | Registered: 28 November 2004Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of icemanls2
posted Hide Post