New
Find
Notify
Tools

280 AI RL22 loud report
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I have never used RL 22 before and decided to try some in my 280 AI. It seems to make a lot more noise then some of the other powders that I have tried. Is this common with this powder?

Posts: 89 | Location: North Dakota | Registered: 21 July 2010Reply With Quote
Picture of jeffeosso
posted Hide Post
i have found, sometimes, that LOUD sometimes means powder burnt outside the barrel

opinions vary band of bubbas and STC hunting Club

Information on Ammoguide about
the416AR, 458AR, 470AR, 500AR
What is an AR round? Case Drawings 416-458-470AR and 500AR.
476AR,
http://www.weaponsmith.com

Posts: 39577 | Location: Conroe, TX | Registered: 01 June 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Well, the powder doesn't actually "burn outside the barrel" in that powder combustion, even with very slow powders, takes place in only the first few inches of barrel. However, the slower the powder the higher the muzzle pressure (with equal chamber pressures). If muzzle pressure is higher, then muzzle blast is necessarily louder.

Depending on which powders you are comparing with, and the pressures generated by those powders, it might be your imagination, or you might actually be experiencing more muzzle blast. I'm quite certain that I get noticibly more muzzle blast in a .17-223 with BL-C2 than with a couple of faster powders.

Posts: 13243 | Location: Henly, TX, USA | Registered: 04 April 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of ramrod340
posted Hide Post
quote:
However, the slower the powder the higher the muzzle pressure (with equal chamber pressures). If muzzle pressure is higher, then muzzle blast is necessarily louder.

I agree with the first part 100%. As to the second. That has always been my ASSUMPTION.

As usual just my $.02
Paul K

Posts: 12881 | Location: Mexico, MO | Registered: 02 April 2001Reply With Quote
Picture of jeffeosso
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by Stonecreek: