THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM FORUMS

Accuratereloading.com    The Accurate Reloading Forums    THE ACCURATE RELOADING.COM FORUMS  Hop To Forum Categories  Guns, Politics, Gunsmithing & Reloading  Hop To Forums  Reloading    Sanity check needed...working up plinking load for .358 win

Moderators: Mark
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Sanity check needed...working up plinking load for .358 win
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I am working up a plinking/practice load for my 358 BLR using speer 158gr JHP pistol bullets.

Speer has some loads with RL7 in their new manual. I don't have RL7 but I do have H4227.

I ran QL with some of the speer data and attempted to duplicate the results with the H4227. Powder burn rates very similar.

I have settled on 38 grs of H4227...from QL...the predicted pressure is reasonable at about 44k psi with a 90% load density. I put together 10 rounds last night...the case is filled to bottom of the shoulder.

Although I have re-loaded for years, this is my first attempt at a "non-published" load...

Is my reasoning sound or am I going to shoot my eye out?

Would appreciate any comments or suggestions about my method...have not shot the load yet so can disassemble if I am headed for disaster.

Thanks...

K

Posts: 228 | Location: Huson Montana | Registered: 31 January 2008Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of 243winxb
posted Hide Post
Safer to use a published load. Not saying i would use this load, just for your reference. 200gr silver tip IMR 4227-28.5gr Maximum COL 2.765" Win brass- Win primer.Info from 1999 IMR powder guide. Good luck, be safe.

Posts: 1295 | Location: USA | Registered: 21 May 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post