Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

"Newbie" Bullet seating depth?
 Login/Join

posted
I'm new to reloading so I hope this doesn't sound too dumb. I'm loading some 125 grain speer h.p. for my ruger m77 markII 30-06. How deep is deep enough when seating the bullet? I know that it's usually best to have the bullet slightly back from the lands, but if it means that the bullet isn't seating into the case very much isn't that bad as well? My concern is that if I don't seat the bullet far enough in the case that run out will be a problem. Any advice?

Posts: 2 | Location: Erie, PA | Registered: 05 January 2007Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
CJ:
What does the book say for OAL? I'd start there then, after finding the load I like, play with seating depth. Of course this assumes you're not shooting max loads. After you get more experience, I'd advise getting the Stoney Point gauges to measure seating depth to the ogive. The location of the ogive is actually the correct spot to measure seating depth. After you gain a bit of experience, you'll understand what I mean. Oftentimes, bullets are not consistant in OAL therefore the ogive is a better reference point.
Many guys aren't as concerned with the length to the ogive as I am & that's ok. It comes down to how anal ya wanna be about it. I've probably given you more than you wanted here - sorry. Suffice it to say that seat them to the OAL the book says. Bear in Fairbanks

Unless you're the lead dog, the scenery never changes.

I never thought that I'd live to see a President worse than Jimmy Carter. Well, I have.

Gun control means using two hands.

Posts: 1544 | Location: Fairbanks, Ak., USA | Registered: 16 March 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
The 125 in 30 cal is a short bullet so your main worry is to get enough in the neck for good tension. You will not be near the lands with that one. A lot of people use the rule of having the at least the bullet diameter in the neck.
Good Luck