New
Find
Notify
Tools

neck tension question
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
Been reloading for many years but I'm new to this issue of importance of neck tension. Here's my current set-up:

after decapping with a universal Lee decapping die, I'm running the brass (.220 Swift Winchester brand) thru a Redding neck die with expander button removed. Then I run it thru a Sinclair neck expander. The ID of the neck after that is .218", and the bullet OD is .223" (Nosler 50 gr. BT) So if I understand this tension thing right, I've got .005" neck tension, which is about .003" more than ideal according to some gurus. Question, with this set-up, I cannot get any less neck tension? Correct? Then my only option is to buy one of those expensive Redding bushing dies, correct? thanks all.

one of us
posted Hide Post
I am a how does it shoot gurus if it shoots well do not worry about it.

Posts: 19621 | Location: wis | Registered: 21 April 2001Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
it's running about 1-1 1/2" 3 shot groups @ 100 yds with new douglas barrel with about 50 rounds thru it to date. have not juggled bullets/powder much yet as I think neck tension and seating depth are important to get right prior to juggling.

One of Us
Picture of dpcd
posted Hide Post
Unless you turn the necks, a bushing neck sizer will not help. Neck tension uniformity is more important than what it actually measures in terms of pull, within reason. You don't want your bullets to fall out.
Work on other variables. Seating depth, powder charge. Action bedding, scope mounting.

Posts: 17294 | Location: USA | Registered: 02 August 2009Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post