New
Find
Notify
Tools

forming A.I. brass
 Login/Join

<jd_1>
posted
Anyone have some helpful tips on forming Ackley brass? I just got my new 30-06 Ackley back from my gunsmith and I am curious as to what loads to use to from brass that will have the least barrel wear. I reload so any froming/plinking loads would be helpful. Iam looking at low pressure loads with light bullets. Is this what I need? Also I am new to the wildcat scene so any tips on types of brass or fire forming would he helpful.

Thanks...JD

one of us
posted Hide Post
JD I would advise that you do NOT use low pressure light bullet loads to fire form your cases.I would suggest you start with new cases only.Take an empty case (no primer & no powder)and seat a 180 gr bullet approx 3/16 of an inch in the case.( seating die not screwed all the way into the press)Attempt to chamber this round in your rifle.It should not chamber. Turn your seating die approx 1/4 turn further into the press so the bullet will be seated a little deeper and try to chamber it again. Repeat this until you can close the bolt about 1/2 way before you feel some resistance.This will be the bullet engaging the rifling.The last 1/2 to 1/3 of the bolt closing should require a firm pressure to close. Measure and record this overall length. Prime your cases and select a suggested starting load for the std 30-06 for that bullet weight with the powder you are going to use.When you chamber these rounds the bullet engaging the rifling will ensure the case is held firmly against the bolt face.When you fire them the case will fireform perfectly with minimum case stretch and will result in the best possible case life.

Posts: 2436 | Location: manitoba canada | Registered: 01 March 2001Reply With Quote
Picture of Paul H
posted Hide Post