New
Find
Notify
Tools

Bullet seating ?
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
Hi, I am new to realoding and needs some help, when you completing this step, how can you positively confirm that you did a great job ?

One of Us
Picture of MyNameIsEarl
posted Hide Post
I am not sure I completely understand what you are asking. But if what I read is right, visually it looks good and chambers in the gun. Bullet depth is critical in some cases if you are limited to magazine length, chamber lengths, bullet type etc. Some guns like it on the lands (be careful with pressures) and some like a jump between the bullet and lands.

Thats the beauty and fun of reloading. Figuring out what your gun(s) like best.

If you don't have someone that knows what they doing helping you, a reloading manual will be your best friend. You should have one anyway for reference. I have three and want more.

I have a Lyman book, Sierra, and Swift. There are other good manuals out there also such as Barnes, Speer, and Hornaday. I am sure there are more than just these.

Posts: 765 | Location: Camp Verde, AZ | Registered: 05 February 2006Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
quote:
Hi, I am new to realoding and needs some help, when you completing this step, how can you positively confirm that you did a great job ?

Easy, take your rifle and your reloaded ammo to the range and shoot it, that will tell you if you did a great job. Big Grin

One of Us
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by swheeler:
quote:

Easy, take your rifle and your reloaded ammo to the range and shoot it, that will tell you if you did a great job. Big Grin

Is there any guide line ? Can it be dangerous if it is not done properly ?

one of us
posted Hide Post
Got any buddies that reload?? If so please have them help you on your first or second batches.....the help of a good meantor is really invaluable.

Posts: 2002 | Location: central wi | Registered: 13 September 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of Ol` Joe