THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM FORUMS

Accuratereloading.com    The Accurate Reloading Forums    THE ACCURATE RELOADING.COM FORUMS  Hop To Forum Categories  Guns, Politics, Gunsmithing & Reloading  Hop To Forums  Reloading    Theories on why 100 and 200 yard groups are so different

Moderators: Mark
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Theories on why 100 and 200 yard groups are so different
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
I have seen this happen before, but who has a theory for why a rifle that is 3/4 MOA at 100, but then shoots 1-1.25 at 200. I have a nice FN Mauser that does this day after day, a lot of groups in the 3/4 in. range at 200, never over 1.5, but it has absolutely never shot a .5 100 yard group. I have also seen some the other way, .5 at 100, 1.5 at 200, etc. The particular rifle I'm talking about now is a .338 WM loaded with RL19 and 210 TSX. I think the 3/4 at 200 will work on caribou and moose in a couple months. I've been shooting it every week for 6 months and the results are consistently in this pattern.

A shot not taken is always a miss

Posts: 2788 | Location: gallatin, mo usa | Registered: 10 March 2001Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of bartsche
posted Hide Post
Roll EyesI witness this quite often. The reason why ,however, is beyond my scope of knowledge. There are days that it happens out to 400 yds.

Be that as it may it seems your concern stems from hunting accuracy. Well if your first shot falls within 3/4" of point of aim at 200 yds. I'd say you have arrived. thumbroger

Old age is a high price to pay for maturity!!! Some never pay and some pay and never reap the reward. Wisdom comes with age! Sometimes age comes alone..

Posts: 10226 | Location: Temple City CA | Registered: 29 April 2003Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
In Centerfire Benchrest shooting, I always shot better 200 yard groups than I did at the 100 yard line.
I think it has to do with the bullet going to sleep at about the 100 yard line, then flying true from there on.