Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Brown Gunk
 Login/Join

posted
Hi, I'm new to the forum , I have been reloading for 20 years . Mostly the 7mm-08 & the 338win mag. For the 7mm I like the 120gr. Barnes 3XBT , & the 160gr. Accubond . IN the 338 I have only loaded the 210 & 250gr. Nosler Partitions Well I'll get to my question , Like i said I have been loading for 20 years and I have never found an easy way to get the Brown Gunk off the necks of my reloads, After 5-6 reloads it just looks like SHIT. I have used steel wool but that is a lot of work on my hands , any suggestions thanks

one of us
posted Hide Post
Mate,

Beg, borrow, buy, make or steal a brass tumbler...

Your reloads will come out looking better than factory new.

Like you, I used to spend hours cleaning necks, but now I just load 'em then chuck 'em in the tumbler (loaded btw)... it gets rid of the crappy build up overnight...

The fired brass is also easier to find in the grass, and easier to reload - less friction!

Plus, they do look kinda purty...

A gun is a tool. A moron is a moron. A moron with a hammer who busts something is still just a moron, it's not a hammer problem. Daniel77

Posts: 1275 | Location: Sydney, New South Wales, Australia | Registered: 02 May 2002Reply With Quote
posted Hide Post
I have a tumbler and use it all the time and the brass comes out nice and clean and shiney but the neaks are still dirty it's like a patina , I only tumble for about 3 hr. is that my problem ? I see you said over night ?

One of Us
posted Hide Post
try putting just a few medium size piece of steel wool with a handful of brass in ur tumbler and let it go for a while and see what happens

One of Us
Picture of STINGER
posted Hide Post
Perhaps you might like a liquid cleaner. I found Birchwood Casey to be excellent.

It removes corrosion and spots easily.Just follow the destructions.

Posts: 479 | Location: MINOT, NORTH DAKOTA | Registered: 24 January 2005Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of Ol` Joe