New
Find
Notify
Tools

.270 OAL
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I'm just getting started reloading for my .270 and I ran into a little problem. I bought a Stoney Point OAL gauge and comparator set and a box of Remington Core-Lokt 130 grain bullets. I followed the directions and set it up exactly as described but when I removed the case and bullet I noticed the bullet is barely seated in the case. I measured it and compared it to a factory round with the same bullet weight and the gauged round is .168" longer. The cannelure grooves are also way past the case neck. Is it typical to see this much of a difference as compared to factory loaded ammo, or is the throat just plain shot out of this gun? I can't beleive it would be worn that much. Its a Remington 700 ADL and the rifling looks just as good as new to me. Here's a picture of what the gauged round looks like against a bullet, it seems to be barely seated in the case:

Posts: 192 | Registered: 05 September 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Rowdy, you just started learning a bit bout cartridge OAL; It ain't written in stone!

When ammo makers submit designs to gun makers for a cartridge they usually do so with the longest/heaviest round nose bullet expected to be used in that cartridge. Max OAL is - usually - determined for safely seating that bullet to the base of the neck. Gun makers match it to their proper action/magazine length and throat the chambers for that longest bullet.
They have to do it that way, if they throated for lighter bullets all heavier ones would be jammed into the rifling and pressures would jump a lot.

Any bullet lighter than max can can be set further out, to a point. Your bullet is pointed and a bit less max for a .270 so you are seated out a bit, but not too far, IMHO.

Bullet makers tend to put their cannalure where it will match common factory loads but that isn't a hard rule, they vary a bit.