New
Find
Notify
Tools

LOADING THE 300 WEATHERBY FOR WHITE TAIL
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
need some good loads for 150 or 165. This is my first time loading for a weatherby..

Posts: 1135 | Location: SouthCarolina | Registered: 07 July 2004Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of Blacktailer
posted Hide Post
Vines,
Can't help with load data but the question I would like to ask is Why?
With overbore magnums like your Weatherby or my RUM, when you go to lighter bullets you get a helluvalot of velocity. While velocity flattens out your trajectory curve, it also leads to more meat destruction and can lead to bullet "failures".
Unless you are planning on regularly shooting 400 yards, my thought would be to stick to a larger bullet or lighter if you prefer at around 2900fps. Just my $.02 but having shot a blacktail with my elk loads and having to throw away an entire shoulder, I been there done that and don't do that no more. BOOM

Have gun- Will travel
The value of a trophy is computed directly in terms of personal investment in its acquisition. Robert Ruark

Posts: 3829 | Location: Cave Creek, AZ | Registered: 09 August 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
BLACKTAIL: I asked the same quastion, this is NOT my gun. I dont even use a long action. My deer rifles are .260 Rem. & 7MM-08. this is for a friend of mine, I told him the same thing. To big for white tail.

Posts: 1135 | Location: SouthCarolina | Registered: 07 July 2004Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
quote:
To big for white tail.

No it is not! Too fast maybe but not too big! Use a 180 Nosler Protected Point and---wait for it---shoot 'em in the head!!!LOL!

Posts: 167 | Location: Kamloops British Columbia Canada | Registered: 19 January 2006Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of Blacktailer
posted Hide Post