New
Find
Notify
Tools

Accubond terminal performance
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
Please tell me bout your experiences shooting game with the Accubonds, especially on deer and elk (or similar sized game) with less-than-ideal shots. That is, how do they behave on front or rear quartering shots, Texas heart, etc? Do they stay together or fragment on shoulder shots? I'm primarily interested in results at ranges of 50-300 yards.

I am doing load development for a 7 mm mag. The 160 Accubonds (standard, not the long range) are shooting well at around 2900 fps MV. I know this bullet has a good reputation, but I have no field experience with it.

Posts: 2827 | Location: Seattle, in the other Washington | Registered: 26 April 2006Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Anxious to see what kind of input you get. I just started loading the Accubonds for an elk hunt in late Oct. Have shot a lot of ballistic tips at game but never an accubond.

One of Us
posted Hide Post
I have taken antelope, mule deer and elk with 6.5 accubonds. They penetrate yet open well. All of these have been good broadside shots. The only shot that didn't completely penetrate hit the on side humerus of a large mule deer, broke the humerus and was found on the off side just under the hide.
I would used them on any animal.

One of Us
posted Hide Post
Prior to this past season, I had shot exactly 1 dall sheep and 1 caribou with them in 2014. All from a 300 win mag. They were devastating. By the way, these were all 180 grain factory loads from Black Hills.